Ashok, Clarkson & O’Rourke made spot 13 member squad for Bangladesh ODIs.

Ashok, Clarkson & O’Rourke called up.

In the upcoming three-match series against Bangladesh, New Zealand has included two new players, all-rounder Josh Clarkson (26) and seamer Will O’Rourke (22), in their 13-man ODI squad. Additionally, leg spinner Adi Ashok (21), who made his T20I debut in August, is also part of the squad for the second and third games. However, Ish Sodhi, a senior player, will only play the first game before taking a planned break, as mentioned by New Zealand Cricket.

Ashok, Clarkson & O’Rourke made spot for Bangladesh ODIs.
Ashok, Clarkson & O’Rourke made spot for Bangladesh ODIs. (image – getty image)

For this series, several key players including Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, and Devon Conway will be rested following the Test series.

The series is scheduled to start in Dunedin on December 17, with Tom Latham taking on the captaincy role. He will be joined by six other players from the recent World Cup squad of 15. The squad is set to assemble in Dunedin on December 14.

“Josh is someone who, while still only young, has played over 150 matches for the Stags, developing his skills with bat and ball to become a consistent contributor,” selector Sam Wells said.

“Adi and Will are both still fresh to domestic cricket but have been impressive in their early efforts and stepped up well this year in the New Zealand A matches against Australia A. Both offer valuable skill-sets, Adi with impressive control as a young leg spinner, and Will with natural bounce and variation as a tall pace bowler,” Wells added.

Michael Bracewell has an Achilles injury, Matt Henry has a hamstring issue, Lockie Ferguson is dealing with an Achilles problem, James Neesham has an ankle concern, Ben Lister is nursing a hamstring injury, and Henry Shipley is recovering from a back issue. Unfortunately, they won’t be available for selection due to these injuries, as mentioned by the New Zealand Cricket (NZC). Additionally, Trent Boult, who is no longer centrally contracted, has chosen not to make himself available for selection.

“After a very busy winter of touring it will be exciting to have the team back playing at home,” said Wells. “The volume and intensity of the cricket over the winter this year means we need to strike a balance with workloads for players, particularly those that play multiple formats.”

Squad: Tom Latham (c), Adi Ashok (2nd and 3rd ODI), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (1st ODI), Will Young

click here for more amazing cricket updates

1 thought on “Ashok, Clarkson & O’Rourke made spot 13 member squad for Bangladesh ODIs.”

Leave a comment