2023 ICC Award Winners Light Up the Stage!

In a celebration of cricket excellence, the ICC Awards for 2023 recognized outstanding performances across formats, with Australian captain Pat Cummins emerging as the Men’s Player of the Year. Cummins, who led Australia to victory in the ODI World Cup and the World Test Championship, showcased both leadership prowess and bowling excellence.

virat kohli , ICC Awards
virat kohli ICC Award , image – grtty image .

Cummins, Kohli, and Khawaja Secure Top Honors in Annual ICC Awards.

Finishing as the sixth highest wicket-taker across formats, Cummins played crucial roles with the bat in crisis situations, notably in the Edgbaston Test and the World Cup semifinal against Afghanistan and South Africa.

Virat Kohli, the prolific Indian batsman, was named the Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year. Kohli’s stellar year with the bat, tallying 1377 runs at an average of 72 and a strike rate of 99, was instrumental in securing the award. His phenomenal World Cup campaign, where he set a record-breaking 765 runs, played a pivotal role in his recognition. Kohli also surpassed Sachin Tendulkar’s record for the most ODI hundreds during the tournament.

Usman Khawaja fittingly clinched the Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year award. His remarkable comeback reached historic proportions as he ended 2023 as the highest run-scorer in Test cricket. Khawaja tallied 1210 runs at an impressive average of 52, including three centuries and six fifties.

In the women’s category, Nat Sciver-Brunt secured the Cricketer of the Year ICC awardS for the second consecutive time. Despite not topping the run charts in ODIs or T20Is due to limited appearances for England, Sciver-Brunt’s consistency was phenomenal. She registered three centuries in just six ODIs with a strike rate of 107 and accumulated 364 runs from 10 T20I innings at an average of 45 and a strike rate of 135.

pat cummins ICC Awards
pat cummins ICC Award , image – getty image.

Chamari Athapaththu, the Sri Lankan captain, was named the Women’s ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year. She stood out as the only batter with a strike rate above 100 among those who crossed 400-plus runs in 2023, contributing significantly to Sri Lanka’s successes, including an ODI series win against New Zealand.

Hayley Matthews, the West Indies captain, secured the Women’s T20I Player of the Year for her exceptional performance in the shortest format. Matthews ended with 700 runs from 14 innings, averaging 63.6 at a strike rate of 132.3, making a strong impact in West Indies’ performances, including a world record run chase against Australia.

Suryakumar Yadav, representing India, won the Men’s T20I Player of the Year award for the second consecutive year. With 733 runs at an average of 48 and a strike rate of 159.6, Yadav continued to be a powerhouse in India’s T20I batting lineup.

Rachin Ravindra from New Zealand claimed the Men’s Emerging Player of the Year award for his impressive showing with the bat, particularly in ODIs, accumulating 820 runs at an average of 41 and a strike rate of 108. In women’s cricket, Australia’s Phoebe Litchfield received the honors for her laudable start to her international career, finishing 2023 as the second-highest run-scorer in ODIs.

check here – “India Vs England: Test Series 2024 – A Comprehensive Preview”

Bas de Leede was recognized as the Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year for his all-round contributions crucial to Netherlands’ successes, including their qualification for the ODI World Cup. Meanwhile, Queentor Abel from Kenya won the Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year for her excellent performances with both bat and ball.

The prestigious Umpire of the Year ICC award went to Richard Illingworth, acknowledging his outstanding officiating throughout the year.

1 thought on “2023 ICC Award Winners Light Up the Stage!”

Leave a comment