Big changes made in Australia’s T20 squad.

Big changes made in Australia’s T20 squad for the ongoing T20 series against India , where six players are set to fly back to their home in Australia and new players already arrived in india and will play against India in 3rd match of the series.

image source – getty image.

Updated Australia T20 squad: 

Matthew Wade (c), Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Chris Green, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Kane Richardson

Team Australia who is recently playing 5 matches T20 series against India has made wholesale number of changes to the T20 squad of Australia in India as selectors watching through several available options they have for the remaining three matches of the five-game series.

World Cup 2023 winners batsman Steve Smith and leg spinner Adam Zampa are understood to and they have already flown their home ahead of tonight’s third match in Guwahati in India’s north-east, while the remaining players Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Josh Inglis and Sean Abbott will all return tomorrow.

reinforcements joined the squad

Josh Phillippe and Ben McDermott Joining the team tonight for the third T20 match against India . They’re here to support the team . Also, medium pacer Ben Dwarshuis and finger spinner Chris Green from New South Wales will be joining the squad in Raipur before the fourth match.

Chris Green might finally get the chance to make his international debut in either Raipur or the last match in Bengaluru. He’s now the full-time captain of the Sydney Thunder, a role he took on temporarily basis last season. Green has a lot of experience playing in T20 matches around the world.

Ben McDermott has played a whopping 190 T20 matches across various leagues like IPL, Pakistan, the Caribbean, the UK, and the Big Bash. Recently, he’s been making a mark in domestic one-day and first-class cricket with the NSW Blues.

Marnus Labuschagne’s inclusion in Queensland’s Sheffield Shield squad against Western Australia created an opportunity for McDermott to join the team in India. Meanwhile, Joel Curtis made his first-class debut for WA, filling in as Josh Philippe’s red-ball form hasn’t been at its best this summer.

With these changes, Travis Head is now the only player from Australia’s victorious World Cup squad still in India, joined by Tanveer Sangha, who initially traveled with the squad as a reserve.

1 thought on “Big changes made in Australia’s T20 squad.”

Leave a comment