ICC announced its Team of the Tournament , 6 out of 12 are Indian players.

The  International Cricket Council  (ICC) has released the Team of the Tournament for the Cricket World Cup 2023, featuring six standout players from the Indian cricket team. Despite India’s unbeaten streak in the competition, their journey concluded with a loss to Australia in the final.

image source – ICC (X) handle formarly twitter.

The players who named in the list released by ICC has honored Indian players which include Indian caotain Rohit Sharma, India’s star batsman Virat Kohli,Indian wicket keeper batsman KL Rahul,All rounder Ravindra Jadeja, medium pacer Jasprit Bumrah, and the leading wicket taker of the tournament Mohammed Shami.

The lineup also includes Quinton de Kock (South Africa), Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Adam Zampa (Australia), and Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka), with Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) named as the 12th man.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Team of the Tournament:

  • Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa): 594 runs at 59.40
  • Rohit Sharma (c) (India): 597 runs at 54.27
  • Virat Kohli (India): 765 runs at 95.62
  • Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand): 552 runs at 69
  • KL Rahul (India): 452 runs at 75.33
  • Glenn Maxwell (Australia): 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55
  • Ravindra Jadeja (India): 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.87
  • Jasprit Bumrah (India): 20 wickets at 18.65
  • Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka): 21 wickets at 25
  • Adam Zampa (Australia): 23 wickets at 22.39
  • Mohammed Shami (India): 24 wickets at 10.70
  • 12th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa): 20 wickets at 19.80

In the thrilling final, Travis Head’s spectacular 137 powered Australia to their sixth World Cup title, securing a convincing six-wicket victory over India. Despite a challenging target of 241, Head’s brilliant century, along with a remarkable partnership of 192 with Marnus Labuschagne (unbeaten on 58), ended India’s unbeaten streak of 10 matches at the event.

Australian captain Pat Cummins described the victory as “the pinnacle of cricket,” highlighting the significance of winning a World Cup, especially in India. Head’s outstanding performance, including 15 fours and four sixes, contributed to this historic win, with Glenn Maxwell hitting the winning runs, sparking jubilant celebrations in the Aussie camp.

1 thought on “ICC announced its Team of the Tournament , 6 out of 12 are Indian players.”

Leave a comment